Madison Backgammon Club

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Rules and Conditions

This is an American Backgammon Tour (ABT) sanctioned tournament.

The Tournament reserves the right to refuse an entrant without giving any reason.

Entrants may play in the division of their choice, but the Tournament reserves the right to disallow an entrant to play below his or her level, as determined by the eligibility committee. Decisions made by the eligibility committee will be final.

The tournament schedule will be strictly adhered to. Penalty points will be assessed if a player is late or leaves the playing room without first signing out with a tournament official.

In all three divisions and in all side events, the SEP2017 USBGF rules will be observed with the following options:

- Legal Moves will be observed

- Two dice over four dice: Optional - Two dice may be used if both players agree

- Dice on checkers: Optional - Dice on checkers will be considered valid if both players agree

- Baffle boxes: Optional - A baffle box may be used if both players agree


- Championship Division: Clocks Preferred - The match will be clocked upon request of either player

- Badger Classic and Doubles: Clocks Required - All matches will be clocked

- All other matches and events: Clocks Optional - Match may be clocked if both players agree, or when any match is unduly delaying the tournament as determined by a Tournament Director.

All Championship and Badger Classic matches may be video or manually recorded. All matches must be played over a physical board in a designated playing room.

The Radisson is 100% No Smoking, including all sleeping rooms. Brief breaks are permitted during a match.

Final check-in is Saturday, August 25th by 10:00 a.m. Any player not checked in by 10:00 a.m. will be considered a NO-SHOW. Only cash and traveler’s checks will be accepted after August 10th. All tournament deposits are fully refundable until 11 p.m. on Friday, August 24th, 2018.

Please bring your own board and clock!

Tournament Staff

Director: Dave Meyer

Additional Staff: To Be Determined